top of page

You race faster when you are having fun! Bloomsday 12k Recap

Bloomsday was a blast; it felt like team camp, hanging out with my Haute Volee teammates Trisha Drobeck, Catherine Watkins, and many other elite women.

First, I want to thank the Bloomsday Volunteers- they were phenomenal- kind, helpful, and incredibly excited for the race. I learned that the Spokane community rallies around the Bloomsday weekend; it felt like a holiday! They even personally greeted us as we landed in Spokane airport. I loved how spirited Spokane was for Bloomsday; the town had a great energy buzzing days before the race.

Here is a photo from the Bloomsday Expo at the Newton Running shoe booth. I got a new pair of the Motion Newton training shoes. I like neon; I think the neon blur makes your feet look faster when you run by!

Spent a lot of time eating and relaxing in the Hospitability Suite at the Race hotel. Bloomsday Volunteers had a GREAT buffet of options for us the weekend of the race. It was fun to laugh, share stories, training advice, and goof off with the other invited runners.

We found Liz Anjos on the start line!

Post-race shenanigans with Oiselle (birds LOVE to take pictures).

We did a long cool down along the river trail in Spokane with some of the other racers. The running community was the best part about Bloomsday.

Here are the results. It was my first 12k. Since I had not raced this distance before, I didn’t try to pace my miles exactly (like I did for the Marathon or the 10k on the track). A very hilly and hot course. My goal was to be top 30 (I was seeded 24th in a very competitive field) and break 44minutes. I ran 43:25 and placed 18th. Pretty happy with the time for a hard course!

Bloomsday poster with all the elite racer’s autographs. We signed it before we got on the airplane home.

Spokane Bloomsday was a fun weekend. I plan on racing the 12k again next year now that I understand the course and hills. Thank you Bloomsday for a great weekend!


LYNDY'S UPCOMING RACES

9/3/2017

Oregon Wine Country Half-

Dundee, OR

​

10/8/2017

San Jose Rnr Half-

San Jose, CA

​

12/3/2017

California International Marathon-

Sacramento, CA

 

​

 

bottom of page