top of page

How to run like a Robot.


The time standard to qualify for the 2016 Marathon Olympic Trials was 2:43, which is 6:13 mile pace.* To play it safe, I trained for the marathon aiming for 6:10-6:12 mile pace. Much of 2015, I felt like a Robot: Run, Work, Run, Yoga, Sleep, Repeat. I am a creature of habit, so I loved this training cadence. A lot.

Tell your body what to do. OVER AND OVER

My dad told me in High School: "To run fast, you have to run fast." He taught me to work for my miracle race. Plain logic: if you want to run a certain pace, you have to practice running that pace. In 2015, I ran hundreds of miles at 6:10-6:12 pace to teach my legs how to run the magical Olympic Trials qualifying pace for 26.2 miles. My coach, Rich Lovett had me do 20-22 mile workouts, here is a high level summary:

1. Start faster than goal race pace

2. Settle into goal race pace (goal pace=6:10-6:12)

3. Close workout faster than goal race pace....this hurts btw!

These were brutal, but effective workouts because I told my legs: run 6:12 mile pace.

Robots don't obsess, they obey rules.

For me, elite racing is about focus. I get quiet (and a little introverted) the days before a race because I am subconsciously conserving energy; I am almost a Zombie on race day. If luck really IS when preparation meets opportunity, then why obsess and worry about your training? Prepare so you can have your opportunity. A robot does not have anxiety, they follow what their maker has taught them. It's hard to obey the rules and limitations of your body: I did my best to listen to my body when I was getting over-trained. It's a balance of pushing your limits and not getting hurt. You can't PR if you aren't on the start line!

Find a rhythm.

It take serious stubbornness to hold pace in the marathon. Some days it is nearly impossible to run on pace. Many of my elite running friends with eyes on the Trials did not find their rhythm on race day and missed the qualifying time. I know they were fit enough and had the preparation to run 6:12s, but sometimes the day doesn't work, no matter how fit you are or how hard you try.

In October I ran the Chicago Marathon after recovering from the flu (finishing time 2:49). I could not find my robotic rhythm that day. I was blessed to be healthy enough to try again 8 weeks later. In December I stepped on the start line at the 2015 California International Marathon, my last shot at qualifying for the Trails and running a 2:43. This time I found my rhythm. My legs and splits were robotic (not without pain though). I told myself "I run 6:12s" every mile in the race. If I ran faster than 6:12, I tried to correct my pace. If I ran slower, I managed my panic and I focused on getting back to 6:12s. Some 6:12s felt like a bouncy deer, some felt like my legs were weighed down by sandbags.

I went across the line in 2:42:34.

Averaging 6:12 pace.

36 seconds to spare.*

The robot programming worked exactly as planned!

*In December the time standard changed to 2:45. More info on Trial Changes.

LYNDY'S UPCOMING RACES

9/3/2017

Oregon Wine Country Half-

Dundee, OR

​

10/8/2017

San Jose Rnr Half-

San Jose, CA

​

12/3/2017

California International Marathon-

Sacramento, CA

 

​

 

bottom of page